Are you ready then?

Five days.  That’s how long I have left in good ole Blighty, how many days I have to enjoy the British summer weather (dark clouds and drizzle, in case you were wondering, with a blustering wind to boot) and how long I have left to wonder if I have everything prepared to leave.  In five days time I will be up in the air, no longer a teacher in an English primary school, but on my way to being a teacher in an elementary school in the States.  It’s a long trip.

The question everyone keeps asking me is ‘Are you ready then?’ And the answer…I don’t know!  Every time I’m asked this question I think of the quote (and don’t ask me where it comes from because I honestly can’t remember at all!) that goes something like this:

If you wait until you’re ready, you’ll be waiting for the rest of your life.

I honestly don’t know if I’m ready.  Yes, the paperwork is sorted, my visa is stamped, my job is waiting and my flight is booked.  I have one case packed and the next one ready to be filled, and have my in-flight reading material ready to go.  I have sun cream and insect repellent and adaptor plugs and the approved TSA locks for my suitcases.  So maybe I am ready after all.

But then… I don’t have a place to rent yet, or a social security number or any idea how I will remember to drive on the right side of the road or where I will find food for my gluten-intolerant dairy-intolerant self.  I can’t do any of those things until I get there, so will I ever be ready?

What I am ready for, though, is what the wise Dixie Chicks sang about: wide open spaces.  I’m not talking undulating fields of wheat dotted with the occasional Stetson wearing cowboy (though, let’s be honest, I wouldn’t say no to either of those things). I’m talking about the wide open spaces of a new horizon, a place of new adventures.  I might hit the ground running or I might stumble; maybe it will take me months to get to grips with Fahrenheit instead of Celsius and gas not petrol or maybe I will find myself feeling like a local in no time at all.  Either way it doesn’t matter, because if I don’t try I’ll never know.

Am I ready then?  Ready for moving thousands of miles from home to a new continent, new town, new job, new everything?  You bet I’m ready, and even if I weren’t, I’m getting on that plane anyway!

Leave a Reply

