Saturday off

A few weeks ago, I made a promise to myself, and the promise was this:  I will have a weekend.

I have been working myself into the ground since I arrived here and have spent every weekend so far surrounded by piles of planning, marking, filing, admin and so on.  In short, I haven’t had a weekend.  The furthest I have ventured out is to the laundry room.

But no more.

A few weeks ago there was a Bluegrass Festival in town.  I went.  Really.  I left the apartment, left behind the planning, and had some fun.  And it was great.  I listened to banjos playing, walked downtown, enjoyed the sunshine, saw friends, and my trusty cowgirl boots were right at home.

The fact that this happened a few weeks ago and I am only just getting to writing about it now lets you know that my day off was a rare occurrence.  But, it happened.

Here’s to it happening more often…!

Leave a Reply

