Dear Mother Nature…

img_1093

I’m British, so February is a month of cold, likely snow and waiting for Spring to arrive.  It’s a month where you wear woolly socks and put the fire on in the house and see your breath when you’re rushing for the bus.  It’s that time of year when you look back wistfully on Christmas just a few weeks earlier, avoid the weighing scales as a result of that Christmas just a few weeks earlier and buy some new (read: bigger) jeans, and stock up on Golden Syrup and those plastic lemon squeezy things ready for Pancake Day (absolutely the best Tuesday of the year).  That’s February for a British girl like me.

February in North Carolina is almost none of those things.

Last weekend, I went to the ballet with a friend and her family.  We went to watch The Little Mermaid, and if you’re wondering how ballet dancers (a profession which generally requires legs and feet to move gracefully) carried a story in which the larger part of the cast of characters have no legs or feet…well, they did it marvelously.  I loved it.  Although, if I’m being honest, I loved the trip to the local chocolate shop and the gluten-free vegan peanut butter cheesecake at my favourite restaurant afterwards even more.  But cheesecake not withstanding, the ballet was great.  However, what I really need to tell you about this trip was that I wore a dress, a sleeveless dress, and was still hot.  The sun was shining, the trees were in full bloom, and I was hot.  And it’s February.

img_1206

This is very strange to me.  I still haven’t figured out all this Fahrenheit malarkey, so all I can tell you is that it was 22 degrees centigrade.  That’s Spring weather.  That is not February weather.  The day after my ballet trip, it was 24.  My handy weather app tells me it will be 26 in a few days time.  And then 27 at the end of the week.

THIS IS NOT FEBRUARY WEATHER!

Of course I’m not complaining.  I like the sunshine.  But it’s a tricky mistress, because while I’m enjoying the sun and the heat my brain fools me into thinking it must be May.  Surely, it’s nearly time for the summer holidays?  Alas, it’s only February, and I have seven weeks until a break and then another few months until Summer officially arrives.  It’s that trickery I don’t like.

With that in mind, I am not asking Mother Nature to bring back the cold.  She can keep the sunshine coming.  But I would also like to request, in an unfailingly British and polite way, that she also speed the clocks up just a little (and while we’re at it, my metabolism too) so that Summer arrives soon.  So that’s my request, dear Mother Nature.  From a tired teacher.

Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

