Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine blogger award

After a long old day at work yesterday, I came home to find I had been nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award.  And how thankful and humbled I was!  The lovely Zoya nominated me – and I’m not just saying this, she really is a lovely lady, and a fiercely good writer to boot  (which you’ll find out for yourself when you check out her wonderful blog here).

So, in keeping with the way of this Sunshine business, the rules are as follows:

• Thank the person/persons who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
• Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
• Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
• List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog.

By the way, I have to tell you I am currently writing this in the North Carolina evening sunshine.  Sunshine Award, in the sunshine… maybe I’m a sappy romantic, but there’s something lovely about that, don’t you think?!

But back to business: my answers to Zoya’s questions…

1. How long have you been blogging and what motivated you to begin?

I have been blogging since August 2016, so not even a year yet.  It all started because I was about to relocate to the USA from my beloved UK and I wanted a way to tell the story of my adventure.

 
2. Who is your favourite character (book or movie) and why?

Wow…how do I pick just one…?!  Probably a three-way tie between Scarlett O’Hara, Tris Prior and Todd Hewitt.  I love Scarlett for her absolute refusal to give up, for her stubbornness to succeed, and for being so much more than pretty or prim or quiet as society might have had a woman of her time be.  I love Tris Prior for her bravery, for her selflessness and for her honest weaknesses too.  And I love Todd Hewitt for being perfectly imperfect, for loving fiercely and for hoping against all odds.  And also because he can hear his dog think, which, let’s face, it is every dog-owner’s dream, right?!

 
3. What annoys you more than anything?

Bad manners and being patronized.  Especially bad manners.  I mean, it takes less than a second to smile, and just a little bit longer to say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ and ‘good morning’.

 
4. What would you ask for if the answer was ‘Yes’?

A job that pays me to write and make art and help cheer people up by encouraging creativity.

 
5. If you could invite anyone to dinner (dead or alive), which 2 people would you invite and why?

Ruth, the biblical character, because she is an inspiration in friendship and loyalty.  And Maya Angelou, because I would just ask her to read and talk all night long and never tire of listening!

 
6. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

I hope that I will be settled – that I will have found a place to call home and be content in it.  But I also hope that I will be unsettled – that I will still have a sense of longing for more adventure and to learn and do more and more and more.

 
7. What’s your happiest memory?

Sorry, but it’s a tie again!  First, the day I spent playing dancing games on the Wii with my mum and nephew and niece and us all laughing until I couldn’t breathe while our dog barked around us happily.  Second, a Sunday morning where a church service I had helped to organize brought my Christian family together despite us speaking different languages.  I didn’t understand every word that was said, but I understood the love we all shared.  On both those days I didn’t just feel happy, I felt truly blessed.

 
8. Which protagonist/villain do you see yourself in?

It’s hard to answer that without saying who I would like to see myself in!  I suppose when I was younger I always saw myself in Hermione Granger, because I was that frizzy-haired, rule-following, test-acing kid too.  And then later on, I saw myself in Jane Eyre, in her passionate nature and her stubborn independence and, in truth, her journey to discover just what kind of ‘freedom’ she was looking for.

 
9. What would you be working as if you weren’t a blogger/writer or working in your current job/career?

Right now I’m a teacher who likes to write when she has the time.  I’d like to flip the focus and be a writer first.  But really, any creative arts-based job would be fine and dandy.

 
10. What are your 3 favourite foods?

Chocolate, almond butter, and broccoli.  Though not altogether, obviously.

 
11. If you had one day completely by yourself, how would you fill your time?

I would wake up early and go out for a walk in the countryside.  I would take my camera with me and stop often to take of photographs of little things.  Then, I would have a picnic (preferably on a beach) and enjoy a hot chocolate while I walked some more.  After that, I’d head to a quiet spot to do some writing.  I’d head home in the mid-afternoon and cook up a feast for dinner and not worry about washing up the dishes since no-one would be around to complain.  Once I’d eaten my fill I would curl up with a good book or a favorite movie.  When darkness hit, I’d get back in the car and drive to find a spot where the stars were bright and clear, and I’d watch them and pray on them and go home at last, tired from  well-spent day.

Finally, here are my nominations (I’m breaking the rules here a little since I only have 6 nominations) and their 11 questions:

  1. Karen
  2. Sam
  3. Meagan
  4. Rae
  5. beautybeyondbones
  6. Charlotte

 

Questions (I should add here that my little students helped me with these questions, so consider yourselves warned…!):

  1. If you could eat just one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  2. Beach holiday or city break?  Why?
  3. Who is the one person you are most thankful for?  What would you thank them for and why?
  4. What is the dream or goal you have that you haven’t told anyone?
  5. The series you completely binged on Netflix and are not even sorry about?!
  6. Which book or quote inspired you the most and why?
  7. Who would play your older (or younger) self in the movie of your amazing fantastic life?
  8. Which teacher inspired you most during your school life?
  9. If money wasn’t an option, what one thing would you buy and why?
  10. Describe yourself in three character traits.  Explain your choice.
  11. What made you choose the career you have?  Would you change your choice now?
Leave a Reply

