Spring Resolutions

DSC_0448.JPG

I love Spring.  And it has definitely sprung here in North Carolina.  The flowers are blooming, the sun is shining, the mercury is rising and Spring Break is almost here.  I’ll be honest, as a tired (very tired) teacher, that last point completely trumps all the others: fourteen weeks of school without a break is plenty, thank you very much!

Although Spring is not my favourite season (that prize would go to Autumn with it’s beautiful golden colours and cooler nights just perfect for cozying up with a book), it’s a close second.  If it were a colour, I’d like to think that Spring would be a pastel turquoise with lilac and pale orange polkadots.  If it were a food, I’d like to think that Spring would be a small slice of lemon drizzle cake.  But cake and polkadots aside, I enjoy Spring for the usual cliche: new beginnings.  It’s almost as if the lighter evenings and the warmer sunshine motivate me to take up a new hobby or set a new goal.

Forget New Year’s Resolutions, I’m all about Spring Resolutions.

Once Spring Break arrives, I know that the rest of the school year will fly by, and with it my time in the States.  And I am determined to make the most of it.  So this weekend I sat down and thought about all the things I want to achieve in this season and the next.

  1. Learn how to really use my new camera.  Not just point-and-click type photography, but adjusting shutter speed, choosing and changing lenses type photography.
  2. Visit a new park or walking trail every weekend.
  3. Explore where I live.  Venture out further.
  4. Actually try some of the recipes in my new recipe book instead of just looking at the pictures and thinking how tasty they might be.
  5. Cook, eat, talk, laugh with new friends.
  6. Read more.
  7. Write more.
  8. Finish those sewing (and crochet, while I’m at it) projects.
  9. Spend time in the sunshine every day (Recess with my kids doesn’t count).

Who knows if I’ll actually achieve any of my nine resolutions.  Maybe I’ll only tick a few off my list.  But sometimes I think the act of making resolutions is enough – a promise, if only to yourself, that you’ve still so much left to do.  What an exciting thought.

Leave a Reply

