Almost home

Shackleford.jpg

It’s almost time for me to head back across the ocean, home to England.  But before then, we’re ending our road trip in a place that feels like home now:  the North Carolina coast.

This isn’t my first time to the Outer Banks.  It’s my third, in fact.  And every time I come I fall in love with it all over again.  I mean, how could you not?!  Beautiful coastal small towns, white houses that shine in the sun, sweet tea served in every establishment… what’s not to love?

This time around though, I got to tick one more thing off my bucket list: I got to see wild horses.  Shackleford Banks are only accessible by boat, and one particular boat at that since the island is a National Park.  And one thing you should know about me is that I do not like boats.  At.  All.  But for wild horses, I can make an exception.

I arrived at the island a little after 9am on a Thursday morning and as soon as I stepped onto the sand, there they were:  the wild horses of Shackleford.  Beautiful doesn’t even cover it.  But Shackleford is more than it’s horses. I had a wonderful morning there that made me so so happy.  I saw the horses.  I collected shells practically as big as my head.  I walked across white sands and under perfect blue skies.  I walked, knee deep in the ocean, across sand banks.  It was perfect.

And it was a perfect way to say goodbye to North Carolina.

Shackleford beach.jpg

Leave a Reply

